allthepageswereoutoforder

How to do something big for God

on April 15, 2013

I Corinthians 16:1-2   Now about the collection for the Lord’s people: Do what I told the Galatian churches to do. On the first day of every week, each one of you should set aside a sum of money in keeping with your income, saving it up, so that when I come no collections will have to be made.

We can light a candle but we can’t light the sun.  You don’t have to be big in the eyes of men to do something big for God.

1.  Motivated by love.  The smallest things  are motivated by love.  A smile becomes big with love.  Don’t bribe God.  He knows our hearts and why we are doing what we are doing.  Example, here is the Bribe Prayer, Dear God I need a new car. my child hasn’t had any new shoes in a while, I am not making enough money on my job and I really need a new one and if you do this for me I promise I will be good.

2. Bound to last. Done in time goes to eternity.

3. Something that changes lives.  When he met people they never left him the same.  If they were blind now they could see, if they were poor now they were rich.

There is a formula that you need to follow.

1.  Care a lot about somebody besides yourself.  The situations they are going thru isn’t as bad as you.  Look at what is going on in the newspaper or on Television or even next door.

2.  Team up with somebody else.  If you get together you can do more.  I can chase a thousand with one but with two I can do twice as many.

3.  Give it priority.  Wednesday is Hump Day.  Not Friday.  The first day to do for God is not in a shelf, drawer it has to be priority.

4.  Take it personally.  I don’t know where God has done for you but I’m excited what he did for me.  I don’t know what you came to do but I came to praise God. It’s personal with me.  Put some resources on it.  Lay something aside. Men- you are fine,  They whisper sweet nothings in your ear, They don’t take you anywhere, They don’t know when your anniversary is, or What your name is.  Those sweet somethings are sweet nothings.  When it’s backed up by time , resource, and money.  Small things become big things.

You are to give as God is to prosper you.  If I ain’t big to God it ain’t big for God.  There was a Lady who put in two cents at church, everybody else put in twenty, fifty.  She put in the most than anybody else.  What you have left you give.  She gave all she had.

How did Paul know the formula.  The same thing you do for him he does for you.  Cares for somebody besides himself.  Genesis 1:1 says in the beginning God, the 3rd verse God said, in 26 he said team up, let us.  God came looking for you personally when you were in sin, walking the wrong way, doing the wrong thing, God is looking for you personally.

John 3:16 He gave his only begotten son.  My God has supplied all your needs. If you were hungry he supplied you with food, if you were sleeping outdoors he provided you a place to stay, kids had no shows and he provided shoes for them.  Not out of ego or to be famous. How can I enjoy all of this and do nothing.  How can I just say thanks I have to do something big for God.

gods

Leave a Reply

