allthepageswereoutoforder

Go ahead and sing

on March 3, 2014

Psalm 137:1-4

Some people should not be given permission to sing.  It’s a myth that all black people can dance.  Some of us were put off of Soul Train.  It’s a myth that black people have rhythm or that all black people can sing.

For the sake of sanity everybody should be free to sing.  Gold plated gates or diamond cages but you still feel captivate.  Fell a degree of futility with no inspiration and no motivation with music.  Outraged by oppressors.  Sing me a Zion song.  Didn’t like to sing in the state of depression.  How can I sing? We sing when our children are dying, when mothers are underpaid, marriages are crumbling, Can’t get along with your family or the people next door.  Don’t ask me to sing because I can’t.  I know you may not feel like it but go ahead and sing.

Access: Sing in a strange land and you get access to places you never go.  No preaching, no Prophesying just sing.  People respond quicker to music then to word.  They put prayer out of school, put Jesus on a song, they allow music but not the word.

Songs have ability:  Songs can assist with anger management.  Think about grandma and all the times she hummed.  Humming walking in the kitchen slamming pots.  Sometimes the best way to release anger is to sing.

Change the atmosphere: Instead of responding sing a song and walk away.  Sing a song when you get in a bad atmosphere.  Can’t get along with your spouse, Can’t get along with people at work sing a song.

New Attitude: Don’t mess with people’s songs.  Don’t get in someone car changing the station, or changing the channel at their house or putting a different DVD player in.  It’s a terrible day, too much snow outside, too cold.  This is the day that the Lord has made I will rejoice.  I’m tired of the snow but I will rejoice.  When people give you negativity sing a song.

Anointing: It destroys the yoke in a song.  The whole time you are singing God is loosening up your chains or freeing your bondage.  God is there when you are there and it’s still his song but go ahead and sing it.

Audience: Sing a down hymn song.  What they didn’t know is that they weren’t the audience of the song.  It was a performance it was a praise.  You gave me the opportunity to talk to God and not an audience.  “His eyes were on the sparrow.  I sing because I’m happy;
I sing because I’m free; His eye is on the sparrow And I know He watches me”

My joy is gone, My praise is gone.  When you sing you discover songs that have special ability.  You get a chance to worship to the one person who is God.

amazing

Leave a Reply

